Revelation 3: 14-22

Click Here to Read Passage

A Rebuke for the Lukewarm

Here is another difficult message.  Personally I dislike wishy-washy discussions about Christianity, so know how God must feel when folk avoid taking a clear stand on the Gospel.  Yet I know I also avoid speaking out when friends and family challenge me on issues such as ‘salvation’, ‘original sin’, eternal life’, ‘suffering’, ‘healing’  ……..;  I look for bland, comfortable answers that won’t make be sound like a fanatic fundamentalist!

But in His mercy, God rebukes us because he loves us and longs for us to really value the riches of His Word.  If we are steeped in Scripture, we will naturally speak the truth in love. See Ephesians 4, v15

Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will grow to become in every respect the mature body of him who is the head, that is, Christ.

A Great Promise

And the wonderful promise in verse 20 of this passage:-

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.

You will probably have seen the famous picture by Holman Hunt illustrating this wonderful truth.  Just meditate on this image for a short while, noting that there is no handle on the door; it is on the inside!  However much the door to our life is surrounded by weeds and looks firmly shut, Jesus is knocking and asking us to let Him in.  Even committed Christians have doors in their lives that are closed to The Lord, perhaps even closed to everyone;  I know this to be true because I still have some.

So pray for yourself, your friends and family and ask that you and they will hear Jesus knocking and open up.  He longs to eat with us.  Praise Him!!

Hunt_Light_of_the_World

 

Leave a Reply

