Philippians 2:12-30

Last post of the week from me! You can read the passage here:

Philippians 2:12-30

Sometimes I think the Internet was made for complaining. Am I right? Well, that and cat pictures.

Anyway…how many people do you know mope and moan about their lives online, just to get attention from others? (and yes I am referring to myself as well here!). How often is this complaining really necessary? Or how about the person you know that always loves to argue, just for arguments sake?

I’m trying not to be Judgy McJudgerson here (yes that’s a real word people), unfortunately there are those who do go though very difficult times, and they absolutely need to share what they are going though with those around them. But when you step back and look at the big picture, does complaining about how your dog ate your homework, or that you missed your favourite TV show seem that important? I mean, some people in this world don’t even have a roof over their heads, or have access to clean water, or education, or food.

Paul is writing this letter to Philippi whilst he is stuck in prison. But he doesn’t grumble or argue – he has put his trust in God, and no matter what happens to himself, he will still love and rejoice in the Lord. He says even if he pours out his whole self, then he will still rejoice and be glad, as long as the Kingdom of God is being served. That is pretty impressive. What a challenge for us complainers!

Dear Lord, thank you for all the blessings you have given me. Help me to be grateful for all that I have, and to not needlessly argue, grumble or complain. Please help me to hold in my heart all those in this world who are struggling, and those who live without basic needs. Amen.

Leave a Reply

