Philippians 2:1-11

Ding ding ding! Congratulations Carol, you have won the Life BIOY lottery. Be excited people…it’s a pretty good passage:

Read here: Philippians 2:1-11

Okay for one thing, it brings up fond memories of different hymns and songs sung at Church, which all borrow lines from somewhere in this passage. I love a good tune, so anything that gets a great song in my head is good by my book.

Talking of books…

Let’s imagine the Bible was a brand new paperback book that just came out today. The passage we just read is like the blurb on the back cover. It’s basically the summing up of everything that Jesus did for us / is doing for us / will do for us. It’s a handy little reminder of the core part of the Christian faith.

So what’s it all saying? Believe it or not, it’s saying that Christianity is backwards-land. Where everything works in opposites to the world around us. Stay with me here… In backwards-land, up means down, left means right, fast means slow. To live as a Christian, it means that to receive love, you need to give love. To be blessed, be a blessing to others. To be honored, first be humble. To truly live, die to yourself. To lead, be a servant. To receive, first give. To be first, be last.

Paul tells us that the way to be great is to be lower. This is not easy. People always talk about climbing up the ladder of life. Well, we as Christians should be climbing down that ladder. It’s something that I need to do better on, and a lot of people out there probably feel the same. See you at the bottom!

Dear Lord, please help me to put other peoples needs before my own. I pray that I can be Your love in this world to those around me, my family and friends. Amen.

Leave a Reply

