Acts 21:1-36

Written by the lovely Emma

 

What has been the most difficult thing for you about following Jesus?

 

Acts 21:1-36

 

 

But he said, “Why all this weeping? You are breaking my heart! I am ready not only to be jailed at Jerusalem but even to die for the sake of the Lord Jesus.” When it was clear that we couldn’t persuade him, we gave up and said, “The Lord’s will be done.” NLT

 

This reminds me of Jesus he was willing to sacrifice himself for all of us and here Paul shows his courage and belief in being willing to die for Jesus.

I remember when I was younger having one of those bracelets that said WWJD (What would Jesus do). I had memorised what those words were but not what they meant. How easy is it really to think of what Jesus would do in any situation? I mean if I think about WWJD it would only be in context of my life which, let’s face it, isn’t that exciting. What would you do if you were facing down a barrel of a gun, staring death in the face and you only need to say five words which would keep you alive… I mean you would take it right? Right? What if those words were ‘I don’t believe in Jesus’? There are so many people in this world right now facing that decision do they believe and risk dying for that belief or just say five simple words. It’s heart breaking to think we have brothers and sisters out there who are facing this, who live with this difficult decision, which I’m not going to lie I wouldn’t be able to tell you what decision I would make. When I think about all the believers out there who like Paul are willing to die for the sake of Jesus my heart and soul prays for them because they are the strongest believers I know.

 

All I ask is that you sit and pour your heart and soul into a prayer for all the people who are in fear, who are being persecuted and who believe in Jesus.

 

Lord God, please help everyone who is afraid or suffering for following you…Amen

 

Find out about Open Doors or another charity that works to help the persecuted church.

Leave a Reply

