Acts 17:1-18:21

Written by Emma

 

Acts 17:1-18:21

 

 

What do you worship?

 

So Paul, standing before the council, addressed them as follows: “Men of Athens, I notice that you are very religious in every way, for as I was walking along I saw your many shrines. And one of your altars had this inscription on it: ‘To an Unknown God.’ This God, whom you worship without knowing, is the one I’m telling you about.

“Don’t be afraid! Speak out! Don’t be silent! For I am with you, and no one will attack and harm you, (NLT)

These two passages for me go so well together. These people were religious following multiple Gods and waiting for any other Gods they should worship.

In today’s society I see similarities, we have so many famous people we seem to worship or want to be like. We always seem to be waiting for the next celebrity to come round the corner; like ‘the unknown god’ we are waiting for the next trend the next new celebrity to look up to and aspire to be like. Not only are we as Christians at fault of almost worshipping celebrities we want more, we are waiting for this unknown new thing. Is what we are waiting for really a new trend, a new celebrity to copy or are we waiting for the ‘unknown God’. What do we really want to follow? Do we want to follow celebrities or the latest trend or are we lost and waiting for something to put meaning in our lives?

I’m just as guilty of this as everyone else. I want to have the latest things, I want to look just like this celebrity and be just as edgy and cool as her because that will make people like me and make me a better person… erm…

Inner voice ‘no it won’t’

‘I’m sorry but look at her she is so pretty and thin and just perfect. I just need to dye my hair blonde and oh my goodness that haircut would look amazing on me. I wonder how she does her eyeshadow to make it all smoky and awesome. She is always so cool in interviews, she is geeky but guys like her because she is funny. I want to be like her.’

‘And when you do all of that you will be exactly like her… which is perfect?’

‘Erm… well no I’ll still be me kinda.’

‘Yeah the kinda bit is what worries me. What’s wrong with you?’

‘Well I don’t really like this and this and this about me’

‘Oh… but you know that’s what makes you you. I quite like me on the inside, you don’t want to change the inside me right?’

‘Well… could we be a bit cooler perhaps?’

‘Right. I’m saying this once and once only. You are loved for exactly who you are, you may want to believe all the magazines, tv’s and films but God made you exactly as you are and look at you… You put a smile on that persons face, you are loved by all these people and to top it off following God doesn’t require perfection it asks simply you love God whole heartedly and he loves you back no matter what. What do you get from your celebrities and changing yourself?’

‘So what you’re saying is God loves me no matter what?’

‘Yeah’

‘Oh! Well… thanks for telling me’

‘No worries… Could you please actually tell other people now… that would be great thanks!’

It is so difficult sometimes to see God is the one we should dedicate our lives to rather than TV. It’s not easy but sometimes we need to remind ourselves we worship our one and only loving God.

 

Lord God, I pray that you would help me to know that you love me just as I am. Help me to worship you and you alone. Amen.

 

What steps might you need to take to turn back to worshipping God with all that you are?

Leave a Reply

